top of page

The Flettmate Chronicles


I've been putting this off for over a month but I figured today was an appropriate day to do it. 365 days ago, Michelle rolled up to 7 Urquhart Street in a taxi (after being taken to 7 Urquhart Road and 7 Urquhart Lane), fresh off of a 20 hour journey with a fever, and was met at the door by a certain Ms. Erin Flett. To say that neither of us knew what we were getting ourselves into is an understatement. For the next 4 days straight, I was the sick American stranger who was curled up half-dead on a 2-person couch in her living room/kitchen.

I'm all sentimentaled out after Christmas break and if I say too much I'll just get sad because she's left me forever (not dramatic at all). But basically, what a good time.

Erin was the first person I met here, and the only person I "knew" before I came over. I found her on what is, more or less, British Craigslist, and it could have gone so strangely. But it was epic. Ridiculous. The best. Even though I constantly forgot she was an undergrad and complained about undergrads to her. The general flow of things in the flat was me being absurd, Erin being cheeky, and both of us eating pizza, watching Netflix, and texting each other from our beds. We had lots of fights over British vs. American terminology/pronunciation/spelling. She taught me UK slang. I taught her sports. We casually conspired on the best ways to gain residency rights in each other's countries(/commonweaths/unions). And we can't forget the ENDLESS Facebook tags/Buzzfeed links any time one of us finds something ridiculous and/or perfectly fitting. On Monday I officially start Year 2 of my programme, and for the most part, most of my UK life will remain the same. But Erin was a hugely defining part of 1st year, and now she's off to America. So in lieu of a "first year in Scotland" reflection, here's a peedie photo compilation in tribute to life with my one and only Flettmate.

Part of the absurd/cheeky dynamic was Erin taking pictures of me struggling at various aspects of life. Here's a highlight reel, and I'm again struggling with formatting on this hosting site. Don't use Wix, friends. (Click a picture for a reel w/ explanations) :

There was also the unmistakable cheek of our snapchat/facebook chats, and our "Title of Your Autobiography" game.

But every now and then we were nice to each other. Like at Christmas. (Have I mentioned that she worked at a distillery, had employee discounts, and didn't like scotch?

Of course, Christmas also involved getting a bit pranky...

So yeah. Good talk, Erin. :)


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Vintage Stamp
  • Twitter Vintage Stamp
  • Instagram Vintage Stamp
bottom of page